Home > Social Experiments > Birthday Marketing

Birthday Marketing

Gary V is a fan of selling by teaching, but what about selling by wishing someone a happy birthday? Are these companies simply being cordial, or taking advantage of another chance to increase traffic flow to their sites?

Here are three four
e-mails I received with a b-day message:

KYBloodCenter.org

Elfster.com

Ecomodder

Happy Birthday from O'Charley's

O'Charley's

  1. Peter
    2010/03/26 at 11:21 am

    Hi Nick,

    I can appreciate your sensitivity to such messaging and share with you a distaste for things tacky or inappropriately opportunistic.

    Please note Elfster is a site dedicated to social gift giving and celebrating gift giving occasions with friends and family. The message you show above is a notification that 3 people have left a birthday message for you (Anna, Meg, and Ashley). You know those 3 people, right?

    Oh yes, and one more thing… Happy Birthday!

    Cheers,
    Peter

  2. 2010/03/26 at 11:51 am

    Hey Peter,

    I am frequently critical of advertising, but actually think the birthday pitch is a good method. I’d much rather be marketed to when I’m happy (birthday) than when I’ve lost a friend/family member, lost a job, or even when my favorite basketball team loses.

    I clicked through 3 of 4 messages, and Elfster was one of them. I have found your service to be very helpful, especially for a techie like me who asks for very specific gifts (ie Titanium Spork from ThinkGeek).

    I hope my post didn’t offend you or Elfster, but there is a reason that I have maintained my Elfster account and the e-mails don’t get spam filtered. 🙂 Also, thanks for actively seeking me out as a user of your product! That shows that you truly care about the satisfaction of your customers, and I’m looking forward to more companies following your lead.

    Cheers,
    Nick

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

