Home > Uncategorized > Did I mention my love for cable-stayed bridges? Just leaving Tampa after lunch w/ Aunt Margie

Did I mention my love for cable-stayed bridges? Just leaving Tampa after lunch w/ Aunt Margie

Photo_060711_002

The Sunshine Skyway, a cable-stayed bridge over Tampa Bay, is one of my favorite bridges in the world. We have the opportunity to travel over it whenever visiting my Great Aunt in Largo, then my grandparents in Naples. While utilizing similar elements to a suspension bridge (think: Golden Gate), the tension load in the Skyway’s cables is in a vertical instead of horizontal plane. For the scenario of the long, open-water span of this bridge, this type of design is particularly well-suited as it does not require a shore-side anchor. While much of the multi-mile thoroughfare is near to water level, the bridge’s middle section is elevated middle section to allow water-faring vessels to pass under the I-275 land vehicle traffic.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 2011/06/22 at 7:38 pm

    Very cool!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

